Types of Pneumonia

Typical Versus Atypical Pneumonia
Healthcare providers used to separate community-acquired bacterial pneumonia into two groups: "typical" and "atypical." "Typical" bacteria include Streptococcus pneumoniae, Haemophilus influenzae, Staphylococcus aureus, Group A streptococci, and Moraxella catarrhalis, to a name a few. "Atypical" refers to pneumonia caused by Legionella pneumophila, Mycoplasma pneumoniae, and Chlamydophila pneumoniae.
There are, however, no routine exams or tests to distinguish pneumonia caused by atypical organisms from typical organisms. This is why these terms are not often used anymore.
Walking Pneumonia
Walking pneumonia refers to pneumonia that is mild enough so that you are not bedridden. In other words, you can still "walk around."
Double Pneumonia
Double pneumonia refers to pneumonia affecting both the left and right lobes of the lungs.
5 Tips to Keep a Cold at Bay

Pneumonia Information

Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2018 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.